Primary voting is EXTENDED! Absentee Mail-In Ballots ONLY!

UPDATE: Many Kroger grocery stores are providing official mail-in ballot request forms for anyone who needs one.

In response to Governor DeWine cancelling in-person voting on March 17th, the Ohio General Assembly has extended the time for registered voters to cast their ballots in Ohio’s primary election until Tuesday, April 28. 

All votes cast before March 17th have been secured and will be counted on April 28th.

If you have not yet cast your vote you must request a mail-in ballot in order for your voice to be heard.

1. Confirm your voter registration.

The deadline to register for Ohio’s primary election was Feb. 18. Click here to check your Ohio voter registration.

Any registered Ohio voter can cast a ballot in the Libertarian primary. Under Ohio election law, you declare your political party affiliation by requesting the ballot of a political party in a partisan primary election.

2. Request your absentee ballot.

There are several ways you can request an absentee ballot from the Franklin County Board of Elections. (Live in another county? Click here to find a directory of boards of elections, including websites, phone numbers, email addresses and mailing addresses.)

  • Give them a call and request an absentee ballot.
    • Absentee Department Telephone: (614) 525-3470
  • Fill out the online form, print out and mail in an absentee application. 
    • The board of elections must have your absentee ballot application by Saturday, April 25th, at noon. Don’t wait, it may take several days to receive your ballot back in the mail. You must also remember to sign your absentee ballot application!

Unfortunately, at this time Ohio law does not allow voters to request an absentee ballot online.

You can request to have an absentee ballot mailed to a different address than the one where you are registered.

If you requested an absentee ballot but have not received it, contact the Franklin County Board of Elections.

3. Fill out your absentee ballot.

Make sure to print when filling out your absentee ballot and envelope completely and accurately — and don’t forget to sign it!

4. Return your absentee ballot.

There are several ways you can return your absentee ballot.

  • You can mail it to the county board of elections. The envelope for your absentee ballot will include prepaid postage. If you are mailing back your absentee ballot, make sure it is postmarked by Monday, April 27.
    • Absentee Department
      Franklin County Board of Elections
      P.O. Box 182111
      Columbus, OH 43218-2111
  • You can return it in person to your county board of elections. The deadline to return your absentee ballot in person to your county board of elections is Tuesday, April 28, at 7:30 p.m.
      1700 Morse Rd, Columbus, Ohio 43229 (Directions)

5. Track your absentee ballot.

You can track the status of your absentee ballot online. Click here to track your ballot with the Franklin County Board of Elections. If you have mailed back your absentee ballot but the online ballot tracker indicates it has not been received, contact the Franklin County Board of Elections.

* Special accommodations will be made for voters with disability or without reliable mail service. Please call the Board of Elections office to confirm arrangements. Contact the Franklin County Board of Elections.

Franklin County Libertarians will be conducting phone and text outreach to ensure that all residents are able to exercise their constitutional right to vote. Please volunteer and get involved!



Write-In “John Stewart” for District 12!

OH District 12 Libertarians!

Please be aware, our own John Stewart, long time Libertarian activist, is running as write-in for District 12.
In addition to pulling a Libertarian Primary ballot you must write-in “John Stewart” for the District 12 US Congress election.

Not sure what district you live in?
Look up your Sample Ballot!

It will look similar to this!

Franklin County Libertarians field 16 candidates for County Central Committee

Congratulations to the following candidates who have been certified for the County Central Committee election on March 17th, 2020!

 Marie Myers Columbus Ward 46
 Heather O. Sheets Columbus Ward 57
 Albert L. Vest Columbus Ward 67
 Chad Harris Columbus Ward 69
 Christopher Gill Columbus Ward 77
 Harold D Thomas Columbus Ward 84
 Paul J Ridenour Gahanna Ward 02
 Michael Sweeney Gahanna Ward 03
 Drake Lundstrom Gahanna Ward 04
 John S. Stewart Gahanna Ward 04
 Jordan T Bertke Hilliard Ward 04
 Scott T. Smith Jackson Township
 Patrick J Hoffman Madison Township
 Jennifer Lynn Flower Prairie Township
 Kenneth D. Holpp Worthington Ward 01
 David Nadolny Worthington Ward 02


Franklin County Libertarians field 6 candidates for State Central Committee

Congratulations to the following candidates who have been certified for the State Central Committee election on March 17th, 2020!

Tricia Sprankle03rd Congressional District
Harold D. Thomas03rd Congressional District
Linda S. Comstock12th Congressional District
Dustin Reed Nanna12th Congressional District
Jennifer Flower15th Congressional District
Christopher Gill15th Congressional District,%202020/(2)%20Candidates%20and%20Issues/2020-Primary-Certified-Candidate-List.pdf?fbclid=IwAR3psP3_l1d1hjqbmByh02Cl6h9XhNKM0Bc_upKPAwTqmGQNf-fT2BLdQpc